Vault of Skull | Cranial Vault

Vault of skull, also known as the cranial vault, is the space in the skull occupied by the brain. It is formed by the following bones:

  • Frontal
  • Parietal (two in number)
  • Occipital
  • Temporal (two in number)
  • Sphenoid
  • Ethmoid


The internal surface of the vault shows the coronal, sagittal and lambdoid sutures. In its midline, there is a shallow groove that lodges the superior sagittal sinus. On each side of this grove are several small pits, known as the granular pits. The granular pits lodge the arachnoid granulations. In addition to the central groove, there are many other narrower grooves for the anterior and posterior division of the middle meningeal vessels.